Welcome to the Website of 

the Society of Notaries of New South Wales Inc.

The Society of Notaries of New South Wales Inc. was formed in 1909 as an unincorporated association of notaries practising in the State. Located in Sydney, it has been incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1984 (NSW) since 5 September 1989 as a not-for-profit association.

The Society's objects include the assistance of members with Notarial practice and generally uphold and protect the character, status and interests of notaries.

The Society assists members of the public, Government and institutions with general enquiries about the location of notaries in the State as well as aspects of notarial practice. The Society represents the interests of appointed notaries in the State and the A.C.T. and currently (July 2016) has 634 members spread across the State. Becoming a member of the Society is voluntary and open to all practising notaries.  We encourage practising notaries to join the society which benefits all members.

Please feel welcome to contact the Secretary of the Society, Justin Betar.  Please go to the "contact" page for details.

Notaries in the State are appointed by the Supreme Court pursuant to the Public Notaries Act 1997(NSW) and the Public Notaries Appointment Rules 1998. The College of Law holds a Notarial Practice Course each 6 months for eligible solicitors or barristers wishing to apply for appointment. Only lawyers can apply to be appointed a notary. The Society cannot help with enquiries about appointment; such enquiries should be made to the Legal Profession Admission Board on tel. 02 9338 3500 or at Level 4, 37 Bligh Street, Sydney 2000.